S1 Curriculum

Pupils will be learning in each of the 8 Curriculum Areas

  1. Languages- English and a Modern Language
  2. Mathematics
  3. Sciences – Integrated
  4. Social Studies – Geography, History, Modern Studies
  5. Technologies – CDT, Computing
  6. Expressive Arts – Art and Design, Music
  7. Health and Wellbeing – PSE and PE
  8. Religious and Moral Education

There will also be:

  • Interdisciplinary learning opportunities
  • An S1 Challenge day in May with a choice of themes

Opportunities for personal achievement

What are the Assessment Levels?


Level Stage
Early The pre-school years and P1 or later for some
First To the end of P4, but earlier or later for some
Second To the end of P7, but earlier or later for some
Third and Fourth S1 to S3 but earlier for someThe fourth level broadly equates to SCQF level 4
Senior Phase S4-S6 and college or other means of study

How will pupils learn?

  • Learning will be related to the Experiences and Outcomes at a particular Level within the Curriculum Areas
  • Active learning: questioning, doing, thinking
  • Assessment will support learning
  • Progress within a Level will relate to:
  1. the breadth of learning a pupil has experienced
  2. whether the pupil can meet the challenge
  3. whether they can apply their learning into new contexts

How will you find out about progress?

  • Through Progress Updates to parents/carers.
  • In the S1 Homework Diary/Planner where pupils will record homework, set targets, review and plan learning
  • The  annual report
  • S1 Parent’s Evening

S1 Report Information 2011

Information Evening CfE June 2012