New Qualifications

What’s changing around qualifications?

There will be new and updated qualifications under Curriculum for Excellence, building upon pupils’ learning in S1-S3 and ensuring smooth progression from one level to another. These will be available at a range of levels on the Scottish Credit & Qualifications Framework (SCQF), linking with other qualifications at college and university. Qualifications will be available at the following levels:

  • Advanced Higher (Revised) (SCQF level 7)
  • Higher (Revised) (SCQF level 6)
  • National 4 & 5 (SCQF levels 4 & 5)
  • National 1-3 (SCQF levels 1 -3)

Curriculum for Excellence encourages teaching staff to be ambitious for learners, challenge them to learn and achieve and support them where needed.

Current S2 pupils will be first to experience the senior phase in S4 and to take the new National 3, National 4 and National 5 qualifications in session 2013/14. Those pupils at present in S3 and beyond will also benefit from improvements in learning and teaching but will take qualifications within the current system.

CfE Parent’s Leaflet

BBC Learning: Scotland’s Curriculum for Excellence